MBC: Day 1 – About Me 

Hello everyone!

It’s day 1 of my March Blogging Challenge (by the way this will be denoted by the acronym MBC). Yay! I’m so excited to kick off March with a fresh start of new blogs! I’ve been really slacking lately so I’m hoping that I’ll be able to make it the entire month with a blog everyday. I’m so happy that some of you have agreed to do the challenge with me, that’ll be so fun for me to read what all of you have to say! ANYway, without further ado let’s get to know each other a little better.

*ahem*

Well, hi. My name is Alyssa, but my friends and family call me Lissie. I am 20 years old (soon to be 21 in exactly a month.) I’m stoked to be another year older even though I still look like I could be in middle school. I like the sunshine, flowers and being outside, but I also love reading and watching a good movie. I dream of traveling and volunteering across the world and spreading positivity and happiness all around.

I’m just your average college student, really. I’m majoring in Psychology and I absolutely love it. Ever since I was little I’ve known that this is what I wanted to do and it’s just always interested me. I’ll have four associate’s degrees at the end of this semester, so that’s also really exciting! It feels good to work hard and be busy. 

I’m just a girl that’s as selfie-obsessed as the rest of the basic white girls out there. By the way, I don’t think it’s fair to call me a “basic white girl” cause I don’t think I’m very basic. There’s alotta layers to the ol’ onion of Alyssa. Does that make sense? I’m not sure. Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that there’s a lot more than meets the eye. I come across shy and have a horrible case of resting bitch face, but once you say hello, I promise I’ll smile and light up. Because I also smile a lot. I like to laugh, I like to be happy. You’ll hardly ever catch me in a bad mood and even if you do, it doesn’t last too long. I try to be a positive person with an extremely optimistic view on life. Maybe too optimistic. hmm.

Moving on! Like all people, I’ve been through some tough things in life. I’ve had my heart broken one too many times but that doesn’t make me any of less of a romantic. I just LOVE love. It’s such a beautiful thing. Other than that, I’ve been bullied, picked on, left out and made fun of (kind of) my whole life. From the time with those brats in third grade up to the brats in high school. Oh, that’s another thing. High school kinda sucked for me. But that also didn’t stop me from going to class and getting an education.

This brings me to the creation of my blog. Here’s a little story-time for all of you. Once in my “Film as a Literature” class, I wrote a paper. And mine, seeing as I’m a psych major, was about the movie the Sixth Sense. Long story short, I completely missed the point of the paper. Like exponentially, and royally would have failed. However, my professor said that since I had written the paper so eloquently, he was going to pass me with a B-, but normally it would have been a failing grade. Whaaat? Since when do you hear of professors being on your side? and not trying to screw you over?

So this got me thinking… maybe I should try writing. I already knew that I liked it, so what’s the worst that could happen? So, I get to thinking and I decide that I wanted to start a blog. It could be about anything from lifestyle to wellness to beauty, I just wanted to write about anything and everything. Sure enough, the blog SimpleAlyssums came to be. I can’t believe it’s been a year since then, time has absolutely FLOWN by.

So I sit here, in my beach themed bedroom writing to you on my laptop. Oh yeah, I love the beach. and the ocean. and mermaids. and sea turtles. (sorry got sidetracked) — Anyway, I’m just a simple girl with a passion for writing and helping others. I started this blog with the intent to help others through their problems and offer as much advice as I can. If you’re reading this and find yourself in a tough situation or could just use a friend, I’m all ears. Someday it will be my job to help others, and until then, I’m going to do it unprofessionally.

Anyway, thank you everyone for reading! I hope that you enjoyed my little introduction. Tune in tomorrow to see my goals for the month of March. Let me know if there’s any questions you might have. Until next time!

-lyss. x

5 thoughts on “MBC: Day 1 – About Me 

Leave a comment